I Made My Daughter Watch She-Ra and this is What Happened

Leave a comment

Although Disney cartoons are adorable, I really want my daughter to understand that even though she keeps calling herself a princess, she is more than capable of being a hero herself.  One lazy Saturday, a few weeks ago, me and streaming interwebs got an idea. 

“Hey Navi – wanna see a princess show?”

We curled up in my bed and I threw on She-Ra, Princess of Power.  I watched a couple of episodes with her, pointing out things like “look – she beat Hordac” and her “Super hero moves” and of course “She’s a Princess too”  She was pretty into it.  Like, with other 3 year olds, I assume that this shared moment from my childhood probably meant more to me than her and that she will never remember it.

During Spirit week at daycare, (two weeks later) I asked Little Me to pose for a picture of her in her outfit for hat day.  This is how she posed:

shera

Jaw Drop.

“What are you doing?”  I asked her.

“I a Princess Mommy”  YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

In my head I was doing back flips and cartwheels.  She is getting it!  A couple of weeks prior to that I let her watch hidden figures with me and she was able to point out that Taraji was wearing glasses just like her.  My daughter has this minor obsession with Michelle Obama (that is for another post).

The point is that we need to remind our daughters that they can save themselves and others.  This helps with self esteem. I want this little girl (especially since she is already smaller than most kids her age) that she is powerful.  And she absolutely should feel like that – everyday.  All of our daughters should.  Our son’s should also watch these shows too – another fellow blogger of mine Larry, (thealmostcooldad.com) made a great point.  Sons need to watch these shows too – “so the image of a powerful woman doesn’t seem so foreign to them”.  If we start our children with these images now – maybe the needs for these woman strikes, and protests will be obsolete by the time that they get older.

 

 

Author: Parris

Mom of a sweet tiny 3 year old Made in New York Tacos are life

Leave a Reply

