Toddler CSI with Little Me, and her Dad.

Leave a comment

 

IMG_4364-2

 

I remember when I was younger, I had my list of must see TV shows, Alvin and the Chipmunks (circa 1988), Jem, Thundercats, and of course, She-Ra.  In my house, It’s Paw Patrol.  If you have never watched it, it’s a show about a 10 year old kid named Ryder, with 6 dogs who moonlight as municipal city workers in Adventure Bay.  Im serious.  One is a cop, another is a garbage/recycle worker, there’s a pilot, a fireman (pup), a construction worker, one is a sailor, and lastly there is one with a snowplow.  Instead of calling 911, the folks of Adventure Bay call Ryder and they go and save the day.  Its literally like a CSI or Law and Order for 3 – 5 year olds.

We watch this show on repeat.  Every. Single. Day.  My daughter has even gone as far as to name dogs in our building after the dogs on the show. She’s pretty into it.

I was so fortunate that a dear friend (and sorority Sister) gifted us tickets to see the show live on stage in an elaborate puppet show – that I have to say was pretty true to the cartoon on TV.  They really did their best to bring the cartoon to life – down to the voices and characters.  The show was interactive – the kids got pom-pomps – and I had a smiling little girl the entire time.

I reluctantly invited her dad – whom in the past, he and I could not stand to be on the phone for more than 30 seconds.  This is what made me do it.  My daughter found an old wedding photo of us – almost 8 years ago – I was chubbier and he looked much younger with a full head of hair.  And she fell in love.  “OH MY GAWSH … ‘HIM’ SO CUTE” and started hugging the picture.  Just like that she fell in love.  It was innocent and refreshing. And it was cute.  She was dow eyed and bushy tailed – just like I used to be once upon a time.  I remember that no one could tell me anything about my daddy – Michael Andrew Elliott.

IMG_4401-1

I softened – and took the opportunity to observe my daughter at this age with her dad – something I haven’t witnessed for more than a few minutes at a time.  I enjoyed watching her feed him potato chips – and follow him around, and question him running to the bathroom and the concession stand.

I thought that it was healthy for her to see both of her parents interact with her in the same place, at the same time. She was comfortable.  She had fun.  It meant the world to her.  I was grateful, because her happiness meant the world to me.  That day, it didn’t matter whatever transpired several years ago.  Other parties other than us 3 became irrelevant.  She was all that mattered to me. Nothing or no one was going to replace who her parents are to her.  It was a co-parenting win.

I guess the Pups did save the day that day.

Author: Parris

Mom of a sweet tiny 3 year old Made in New York Tacos are life

Leave a Reply

