Preeclampsia – My Nemesis

Leave a comment

One of the things that plagues women during child birth, are complications during pregnancy.  My issue was preeclampsia. So what is it?

According to the American Pregnancy association – Preeclampsia is a condition that occurs only during pregnancy. Some symptoms of preeclampsia may include high blood pressure and protein in the urine, occurring after week 20 of pregnancy. Preeclampsia is often precluded by gestational hypertension. While high blood pressure during pregnancy does not necessarily indicate preeclampsia, it may be a sign of another problem. Preeclampsia affects at least 5-8% of pregnancies. (americanpregnancy.org)  If not properly handled you can end up with eclampsia – this is very dangerous because it brings on seizures in pregnant women.

Here was my experience.  The only cure for preeclampsia is to give birth.  Hence the preemie that I have that you guys read about all the time.  The risk of preeclampsia put me on bed rest at the beginning of my second trimester.  At the time, I lived in New York. I used to take 2 trains to get to work every day.  I didn’t look pregnant at all.  I was very tiny and didn’t gain much weight.

The first sign was protein in my urine.  I had no idea what that meant.  What I learned is that protein in my urine was a possible sign for high blood pressure.  The combination of the two ended up with me home with my feet up doing nothing.

Since I want to ensure that you learn from me:  here are some things that you can do to try to stay out of the preeclampsia danger zone.

  • Keep your stress down – there is a lot of excitement when having a baby on the way.  Enjoy your pregnancy and try not to be stressed out.
  • Watch what you eat – you may be craving mustard and french fries (for me it was Popeyes – everyday) but try not to give in to anything that may be bad for you.  Talk to your obstetrician about what your cravings are and see if they can offer you some healthier, satisfying alternatives.
  • Drink plenty of water – water is the key to life!  I know that you feel like you have to run to the bathroom every half hour already.  Trust me – water only helps.
  • Exercise – whether it’s walking or yoga – try to get moving. It will help your blood circulation.

These are things that I tried to do, but I know that I could have done better.  I hope that in me writing this, you can do better than I did.  Keep in mind that this is the black and white of preeclampsia, with my own personal experiences. There are a lot of feelings and emotions that go along with this, but I will save it for another post.

 

 

 

Author: Parris

Mom of a sweet tiny 3 year old Made in New York Tacos are life

Leave a Reply

